Man of Stone: A Collection of Tanka Poems


I.

This sculpture is man.

Represents artist’s father.

My own comes to mind.

I simply compare the two.

Both men are made up of stone.

II.

Hand covering mouth.

Other on foot; sits on rock.

Art is called “Despair”.

It’s true! Eyes look washed away.

But I add the word regret.

III.

He’s too sad to bear.

I wonder what he despairs.

Is it fixable?

He’s alone for a reason.

He can only fix himself.

IV.

A thought comes to mind.

Did Rimmer try to fix him?

I strived to; I failed.

Which made me come to realize.

Some of us cannot be saved.

About themosthighhistoryguru

College student at Boston University studying psychology. Figuring life out day-by-day.

Leave a Reply

