The Gate of Ishtar


DSCN1060

 

I just want to talk about this photo for a little bit. It may seem like an ordinary photo, but, to me, it is not. Why not? you are probably asking me. This photo is proof that I now know my passion and love in life.

Back in October, when I was taking my first history class, we had to study these images for our midterm. My professor gave us a powerpoint on possible images on the test, and I, naturally, wrote simple definitions for each image. When I came across this image:

 

gate of ishtar

Gate of Ishtar in a museum in Berlin

 

 

I decided to do research on it. I learned that a part of the wall was in the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, and I grew really excited; I really wanted to see it. The next time I went, though, my ex-flame was too apathetic to help me find it (and the fact that he rushed me out of the museum). The last time I went, with a bunch of friends, I made it my goal to find this beautiful mosaic of the lion.

Finding it and seeing it symbolized my love and passion for history. It’s so amazing to see something that you learn in class appear right in front of you; just like that. And, to make matters even better, the lion is the symbol that I closely relate myself with.

About themosthighhistoryguru

College student at Boston University studying psychology. Figuring life out day-by-day.

Leave a Reply

