Creative Writing Class


Sorry there hasn’t been posts. I have been really busy, and, quite honestly, I haven’t been spending much time on the computer. Since I just moved back into college and this past week has been my first week of classes, I’ve been more focused on school, friends, and figuring out a mess that I am currently in. Also, I have been working on the post of The Secret, which I am trying to make as perfect as possible.

That being said, I’m just going to make a quick post on what will be featured in the next couple months on my blog. Since I have a creative writing class, I will be publishing my works on here. I have to write a poem/a short story every week, and I will most definitely post my pieces of work on here. I will also discuss my thoughts, ideas, and development as a writer; I don’t know if you know this but this blog is meant to work on my writing, and to also help inspire and educate individuals about interesting thoughts and ideas in my head.

I’ve been focusing a lot on quotes with writing, and seeing how my connection with writing fits into the context of the quote. There is one specific quote that I found yesterday that resonates with me. It is: “You own everything that happened to you. If people wanted you to write warmly about them, they should’ve behaved better”. Writers tend to write about their personal life; how they feel about things, people, events, ideas, etc. Their perception of that object can never be wrong. Writers also tend to write for themselves. That being said, there is a good chance that I will write about people who are close to me, you might get offended, or you might be flattered. But the way I write about you and how I perceive you is who I really see you as, and there is no wrong or right. I could potentially write about you, dear reader, and I’m sorry if I paint you in a negative light. It does not mean you are a negative person, it’s because you’ve treated me in a way that I see to be negative.

I have a book idea in mind that is going to completely distort a person, but I’m doing it to reach out to those who were in my situation; trapped. I write about my experiences and my thoughts in hopes to resonate with a reader who needs that help, and I want to provide an inspirational story to help them get through it. I am a writer, I write about what I know is true.

And now, time for a poem!

I am the moth, and

you are the flame. I am

drawn to you, naturally

of course. That fire you have,

it’s beautiful. Luminous. Grand.

I can’t help but want to get close to it,

but the closer I get

the more dangerous it becomes. Your flames

tempting, daring, and bright

will scorch me; will scorch

my soul. And you won’t care

because you are just a flame; it’s who

you are. You don’t pick up

the pieces you break.

I am better in the dark, for

in the dark I am free.

There is no light

for me to draw near.

There is no danger

for me to worry about.

I can explore all that I can.

I am no longer seduced

by your blinding light.

I am no longer mesmerized

by your hollow company.

It is dark, and in the dark there’s me.

And, me? I am free.

Oh, look! Another flame

I’m trying to avoid it, but

it’s natural to be drawn to such

dangerous things.

About themosthighhistoryguru

College student at Boston University studying psychology. Figuring life out day-by-day.

Leave a Reply

