Things You Should Do More Often and Why- Part One


  • Meditate– Why not meditate? It’s such a great way to relieve stress and to calm your emotions.It’ll increase your mood. I know, I know you’re saying that you don’t have time. But, 5-10 minutes is hardly that much time! Wake up 5-10 minutes early, or go to bed 5-10 minutes later so that you can get at least one meditation session in your day. There’s studies that actually show it benefits your life positively.
  • Read more– Reading exercises the brain. You learn new words, learn different ways of conversation, and you exercise your creativity. You enter a world that’s entirely your own, even though somebody else created the story. There are many ways to interpret a story, and a lot of your interpretation comes from what it truly means to you. Your own interpretation can be a tool to help you out in your life, kind of look at it like a dream where your subconscious tries to talk to your conscious mind.
  • Exercise– Even if it’s just 30 minutes, exercise is an awesome thing you can do to make your life better. Not only does it make your body healthy, it makes your mind healthy. For the best type of exercise, don’t do it to lose weight. You are BEAUTIFUL no matter what you look like. Do it because you want to, because you want to be the best you that you can possibly be. Even though I’m not skinny, I’m average and I’m okay with it. I exercise because it makes me feel better. After I work out I feel so charged and happy; if you did not know this, but working out releases endorphins in your brain which is influential on how your mood is. Working out doesn’t mean running 5 miles. Start off slow. Walk your dog at first, then after a couple of days start doing intervals of walking and slowly jogging. Or, start doing sit-ups or planks. Yoga is awesome as well. Anything that works out your body and muscles will help your life overall.
  • Learn Yoga– Bouncing off of the last topic, I mentioned yoga is a good way to exercise. Yoga isn’t good for just that. Yoga helps one relax and relieve stress. It also helps flex your muscles (which means you can be more flexible in the best exercise ever…sex (; ) My reason on why you should start taking up yoga, is to help improve the chakras (Just in case you’re not familiar with chakras, I’ll give you a quick definition. There’s 7 chakras lined up vertically among your body, relating to specific traits that one has. For example, the throat chakra is closely correlated to communication. In the future, I will do a blog post on the chakras and what to do to help them!) Yoga will help your root chakra, which is the first chakra that is located in your genitalia. Like the word root, this chakra is what “grounds” you. Since I have a major problem with my root chakra (it’s under-active) it deals with agility and being stable and secure.
  • Limiting social websites– I’ve been having a rough time focusing on more important things and I realized why that was so. I’ve been wasting time on websites like Facebook, Tumblr, and Twitter, when I could be doing something more productive. These websites are alright if you spend less than an hour a day on them, but anywhere more than that can be very detrimental. If you find yourself spending too much time on any social website, change the website to something more educational (I usually do Wikipedia or StumbleUpon) and I learn and educate myself about different topics that I know nothing or little about. I also have the guy I am dating (who I’m with a lot) to monitor how much time I spend on a social website, and if he sees me on one, he convinces me to do something more educational (like do anything on this list, or read an article). If you don’t trust yourself to get off a social website, I suggest you either get StayFocused, or have someone monitor you! I promise you that you will learn more and be more educated.
  • Watch documentaries– Recently I’ve gotten into the habit by watching shows that are not really educational (i.e. Arrested Development, Grey’s Anatomy, It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia,etc.) and the guy I am dating is more interested in documentaries and learning and expanding his knowledge on ideas. He’s gotten me into the gist of watching documentaries as well. At first I was not too fond of them, but when I started watching historical documentaries, I got really involved and interested in (if you’re a history buff like me, you should check out John Green’s crash course. It’s a quick, informational, and educational session on history…and it’s really funny, too!).  It’s awesome to get in the habit of watching documentaries because you give yourself a break from the forced learning you do in school and the tiring reading, and you watch and listen to somebody talk about their knowledge on a certain topic. It’s easy to understand and grasp the concepts, ideas, and information from documentaries, and you are also given a lot of visuals so that you learn a lot better, and it keeps your interest!
  • Write– I am a HUGE fan of writing…especially as frequently as possible. In the past couple of months I haven’t written much, but now I have a word press, I like to write every day. Writing is a great way to get your thoughts out in the world, as well as your feelings. Whether it just be a journal entry, lyrics to a song, a quirky poem, or a short fictional story, writing is a great thing to get into the habit of. The way that I think of it, is that writing is a form of your thoughts that can be remembered for as long as the writing lives on.
  • Listen to classical music– One of my favorite forms of art is music, and more specifically classical music. With classical music you can actually feel the mood that the performer is trying to express. Perfecting this understanding of music, helps on relate to any kind of art a lot better. When I listen to classical music, I can feel all the emotions that the performer is feeling, and I feel one with the music, which is something that can be very rare. Understanding and feeling connected like this awakens another layer inside of you.
About themosthighhistoryguru

College student at Boston University studying psychology. Figuring life out day-by-day.

Leave a Reply

